Blackberry BES Admin password does not work


WOW

The Balckberry BES server certainly has some issues. The password for the Admin user failed to work. I know I got it correct as I use a choice of  very secure password for my installs.

After much searching I discovered the prescribed way to get this back working is to re-install.

Well that was not going to happen. So I ran up another BES server and then just stole the password from the database that was encoded.

Please note that I am using the “BlackBerry Administration Service” for the authentication rules as per the installation of the BES server

If you are using the AD authentication there is a knowledge base here that will help you I think. I have not used it to reset the password, but I did use it successfully to generate a password. Blackberry KB18161

 

Back to you error though, this will work on BES 5.0 SP3 and Microsoft SQL 2005. I don’t think the SQL server has an effect but just so you know the versions.

 

Open up an SQL connection the BES SQL server, I use studio manager but as long as you have the SQL connection who cares.

This will update a user called Admin and set the password to blackberry

UPDATE BASUsers
SET LoginPassword = ‘D8BBFD88EB76EF129C4AA7C812AEB7664D2BE09B6D51D8555E0FC9F54515F88FC2F3BD209887BE064B0F2C11F7C9E6E86BA733667BA3BE4A459968FDB6DF8526:489F5C4B’
WHERE (LoginName = ‘Admin’)

 

This worked for me, there are other posts on forums but unfortunately the encrypted password does not work. RIM probably changed the encryption between releases.

Good luck and it does work

 

Alistair

 

 

 

2 Comments on “Blackberry BES Admin password does not work”

  1. Robert C says:

    This worked for me on BES 5.0 SP4 MR8. I edited the password field directly with the string shown above.

  2. […] Blackberry BES Admin password does not work | The … – May 16, 2012 · WOW The Balckberry BES server certainly has some issues. The password for the Admin user failed to work. I know I got it correct as I use a choice of …… […]


Leave a Reply

